Welcome Guest! YouRememberThat.com is 100% FREE & fast to join! Upload, comment, create your own profile and more!



Check our brand new site TheRetroSite , although YouRememberThat will remain for quite some time we expect this new site to be our new home. Click over and create your account on the new mobile friendly and flexible site today!
Andrew Shaw Disallowed Headbutt Goal From Game #2 of the 2015 NHL Western Conference finals, Andrew Shaw of the Chicago Blackhawks 'scores' an overtime goal against the Anaheim Ducks with a creative soccer-style header. It was a play that few fans had ever seen before--and many wondered if it was a legal way to score a goal. It's not. By rule a goal cannot be scored if the puck is deliberately directed into the net with anything other than a player's stick. The goal was properly disallowed. However, many fans think the rules ought to be amended to allow such a play to count as a legitimate goal. Chicago won the game with a goal that actually counted in the third overtime period. This clip is from Hockey Night in Canada's coverage of the game.
Tags: Andrew  Shaw  NHL  disallowed  goal  header 
Added: 20th May 2015
Views: 745
Rating:
Posted By: Lava1964
Posted by: Lava1964 on 2015-05-20 
There's no truth to the rumor that Andrew Shaw has been offered a contract by Manchester United.
Posted by: Steve on 2015-05-22 
I would have allowed it on creativity!
Posted by: Lava1964 on 2015-05-22 
One of the most contentious calls a hockey referee has to make is whether or not the puck is deliberately directed into the net off a player's body. If it's deemed accidental, the goal counts. Most often a disputed play involves whether or not the puck was kicked into the net. Every once in a while the NHL considers allowing kicked goals to count--but they've never yet changed the rule. Maybe they should--just to eliminate any controversy.
Posted by: eric1957 on 2015-08-30 
That has got to hurt.
Add A Comment
Sorry, guests can't post comments!